News Culture Comment Video


Top five Silver Scroll finalists revealed

Thursday 20th August 2015

Lorde performing at TSB Arena in Wellington.

Photo: Diego Opatowski/RNZ

The top five contenders in the running for this year’s APRA Silver Scroll award have been announced.

The diverse list for the prestigious songwriting award includes songs from Lorde, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Marlon Williams, Anthonie Tonnon and Mel Parsons.

It’s the fifth time Ruban Nielson has had a song make it to the top five, while Lorde took out the award back in 2013 for her song ‘Royals’.

Last month, the top 20 finalists were handpicked by an anonymous panel of judges. The 10,000 APRA members then voted on their favourite tracks to determine those in line for the award.

There can only be one winner though, and they’ll be announced at a ceremony at Vector Arena on September 17.

Bill Sevisi will be inducted into the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame on the night and we’ll also learn who wins the 1981 “lost scroll”.

Finalists include The Swingers, Blam Blam Blam, Split Enz, The Screaming Meemees and The Clean.

APRA spokesperson Anthony Healey said that this year’s finalists showcased what was so good about local music.

“These five songs illustrate everything great about our music right now – diverse, original and assured,” he said.

“We are extremely proud to be celebrating songs of such quality on the 50th anniversary of the award.”

The 2015 APRA Silver Scroll Award Top 5:

'Yellow Flicker Beat' - written by Ella Yelich-O’Connor and Joel Little, performed by Lorde.

'Multi-Love' - written by Ruban and Kody Nielson, performed by Unknown Mortal Orchestra.

'Dark Child' - written by Tim Moore and Marlon Williams, performed by Marlon Williams.

'Water Underground' - written and performed by Anthonie Tonnon.

'Get Out Alive' - written and performed by Mel Parsons.

Join the discussion »

Login to post a comment

Login or Signup


In accordance with our Comments Policy, all comments are moderated before they appear on the site. This happens 7am to 7pm each weekday.