News Culture Comment Video


NZ Music Awards nominees announced

Tuesday 13th October 2015

Six60, Marlon Williams and Unknown Mortal Orchestra's Ruban Nielson.

Image: Michael Greenfield

The nominations for the New Zealand Music Awards have been revealed, with Marlon Williams, Unknown Mortal Orchestra and Six60 leading the way.

Williams has scored five nominations, including Album of the Year, Single of the Year, Best Male Solo Artist, Breakthrough Artist of the Year and Best Alternative Album.

After grabbing the attention of fans as the singer of Lyttleton band The Unfaithful Ways, Williams went onto collaborate on three albums with alt-country musician Delaney Davidson. His self-titled solo debut was released earlier this year and it features the single ‘Dark Child’, which was also a finalist for the Silver Scroll.

Williams will go head-to-head with Silver Scroll winners Unknown Mortal Orchestra, who took out the top songwriting award for ‘Multi-Love’. The group, fronted by Ruban Nielson, have four nominations as do chart-topping band Six60.

Other nominees includes electro-pop duo Broods and much-celebrated rock act Shihad, who have three nods each going into the awards night next month.

They won’t be the only ones celebrating though. The Exponents will be this year’s Legacy Award recipients and will be inducted into the New Zealand Hall of Fame.

Recorded Music CEO Damian Vaughan said that the band, who are known for their hits ‘Why Does Love Do This To Me’ ‘Who Loves Who The Most’ and ‘Victoria’, have had an outstanding and impressive history since forming in 1981.

“Many of the finalist artists for this year’s VNZMA awards have grown up listening to The Exponents. The band’s influence and impact on New Zealand music is significant. The Exponents are Kiwi icons and have created a truly remarkable music legacy,” he said.

The lineup for the Critics Choice Prize showcase will see Auckland acts Boycrush, New Gum Sarn and Bespin perform together at the Kings Arms. The showcase aims to recognise local up-and-coming musicians, and the winner will be decided by an anonymous panel of judges and announced on the night.

The winners of the 2015 Technical Awards, which were also revealed, went to Sean Donnelly for Best Producer (Saint John Divine), Lee Prebble and Oliver Harmer for Best Engineer (Mel Parsons’ Drylands) and Kelvin Soh for Best Album Cover (Broods’ Evergreen).

The New Zealand Music Awards, which is celebrating its 50th anniversary, will be held on Thursday November 19 at Vector Arena.

Finalists for the Vodafone New Zealand Music Awards:

Mentos Album of the Year

Broods – Evergreen
Marlon Willams – Marlon Williams
Shihad – FVEY
Six60 – Six60
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love

Vodafone Single of the Year

Avalanche City – ‘Inside Out’
Lorde – ‘Yellow Flicker Beat’
Marlon Williams – ‘Dark Child’
Six60 – ‘White Lines’
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – ‘Multi-Love’

Best Group

Broods – Evergreen
Shihad – FVEY
Six60 – Six60

Best Male Solo Artist

Marlon Williams – Marlon Williams
Stan Walker – Truth & Soul
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love

Best Female Solo Artist

Anika Moa  - Queen At The Table
Brooke Fraser – Brutal Romantic
Gin Wigmore - Blood To Bone

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

Ginny Blackmore
Marlon Williams

Best Rock Album

Cairo Knife Fight – The Colossus
Devilskin - We Rise
Shihad – FVEY

The Edge Best Pop Album

Benny Tipene – Bricks
Broods – Evergreen
Six60 – Six60

Best Alternative Album

Marlon Williams - Marlon Williams
She’s So Rad – Tango
Unknown Mortal Orchestra – Multi-Love

Best Urban/Hip Hop Album

Diaz Grimm – Osiris
Janine and The Mixtape – XX
The Doqument – Black Canvas – Wall & Piece

Best Roots Album

Latinaotearoa – Latinaotearoa in Latinoamerica
Moana and the Tribe – Rima
Trinity Roots – Citizen

Best Electronica Album

Electric Wire Hustle – Love Can Prevail
Shapeshifter vs The Upbeats – SSXUB
Sola Rosa – Magnetics

NZ On Air Best Music Video

Reuben Bonner – ‘Her Heart Breaks Like A Wave’ (Dictaphone Blues)
Shae Sterling – ‘Aotearoa’ (Stan Walker feat Ria Hall, Troy Kingi & Maisey Rika)
Shahir Daud – ‘Cymatics’ (Nigel Stanford)

Best Maori Album

Moana & the Tribe – Rima
Ranea – Tihei Mauri Ora
Whaia and The Mahician – Whaia

Best Worship Album

Edge Kingsland  Presents - Seven Days
LIFE Worship – Through The Fire
We, The Revival – We, The Revival

Best Classical Album

Jack Body – Passing By
Jack Body – Songs Of Death and Desire
Michael Houstoun – Beethoven: Complete Piano Sonatas

Vodafone People’s Choice Award

Sol3 Mio
Stan Walker

Join the discussion »

Login to post a comment

Login or Signup


In accordance with our Comments Policy, all comments are moderated before they appear on the site. This happens 7am to 7pm each weekday.